The will of Bartholomew Horsell the Elder of Wootton Bassett

1

March 12, 2015 by auntkatefirmin

Note the tomb of Reuben Horsell in the foreground.

The parish church of St Bartholomew and All Saints in Wootton Bassett. .
© Copyright Nick Smithl and licensed for reuse under CC2.0

As usual, I this is the transcribed will to be followed by the inventory and thoughts.

 

In The Name of God Amen This Second day of October in the =

thirteenth year of the Reign of o– Sovereign Lord William

the Third by the grace of God King over England &c &c Anno–

D[omin]i one Thousand seaven [sic] hundred and one I Bartholomew

Horsell the Elder of Wootton Bassett in the County of Wilts

shoemaker being of sound mind memory and good understanding

prayse be given to God therefore do hereby make this my =

Last will and Testament in manner and form following

(viz) Imprimis I give ^ & devise ^ unto John Horsell my Son the one half

part of the Close adjoyning to my now Dwelling house in

Wootton Bassett afores[ai]d to him and his heirs for Ever Item

I give unto Henry ^Bartholomew^ Horsell another of my sons the other half =

part of my sayd Close and the Lower part of the garden to

him and his heirs for Ever Item I give and devise unto

Mary my wife all that Cottage or tenem[en]t and little plott

of Garden ground thereunto adjoyning wherein my sayd son

Bartholomew now liveth in for and during the terme of

her n[atu]rall life and from and Imediately after her decease I

give and bequeath the same unto my Son Henry Horsell and

to his heirs for Ever Item I give and bequeath unto my sayd

wife Mary the Messuage or tenem[en]t wherein I now liveth For and =

during the terms of her n[atu]rall life and from and Imediately

after her decease I give and bequeath the same unto ===

my sayd Son Bartholomew and to his heirs For Ever Item

I give and bequeath unto my sayd Son John ^the^ Coffer and Table

board now being in my Lodging room Item I give and =

bequeath unto my sayd Son Bartholomew The bedd and

beddsteed and all things thereunto belonging now being in

my Lodging room — Imediately after my sayd wives decease

Item I give and bequeath unto my Daughters Mary Ann

Lidia and Elizabeth Twenty Shillings apeice [sic] Item I give &

bequeath unto Reubin my Son Five Pounds Item I give and =

bequeath unto William my Son Fifty Shillings Item I give unto

my sayd daughter Elizabeth the bedd wherein she now lieth

imediately after my decease Item I give and bequeath unto my

sayd daughter Ann the Bedd and all things belonging wherein

my sayd Son Henry now lieth imediately after my decease Item

I give unto my sayd daughter Lidia my Brass Brewing Kettle

Item I give and bequeath unto my sayd Son William a

little Brass pott Item I give and bequeath unto my sayd

daughter Mary my Iron Pott and Lastly I doe here by make

[written cross-wise at the left margin]

my sayd wife Mary whole and sole Executrix of this my Last will and Testam[en]t revoking

all former wills by me howso-er made I do declare this to be my Last Will and Testament

In Testimony whereof I have hereunto sett my hand and seal the day and year First

above wrytten//

[signed at far right] Bartholomew Horsell [seal]

Signed Sealed Published

Declared In the Presence of

[signed] Will Cripps

[signed] Henry Horsell

[signed] R Bayly E ❧

 

Transcription notes: Unusually, this will had insertions in the text which I have noted by ^^ marks. Where I could not make out the letters I used —.  For abbreviated words I filled in using square brackets to indicate the letters I supplied; the writer used either the conventional line over the abbreviated word or sometimes just a dot. The bold formatting to bring out the names was added by me. The marks to fill in at the end of lines are original, as is the lack of punctuation.  The will was written on one side of one sheet of paper and continued in the wide left margin.

One thought on “The will of Bartholomew Horsell the Elder of Wootton Bassett

  1. Amy Parsloe-Ardon says:

    Hi Aunt Kate,

    I’m doing research on my ancestry, as well, and Bartholomew Horsell is my 7th great grandfather. I’m wondering how you’re related to him. If you’re interested, I can provide additional information from my family tree that I’ve been putting together. One question: When you transcribed this will, did you get a picture of the original? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

