On the ground in Nunhead

Leave a comment

April 20, 2015 by auntkatefirmin

Recently, I was able to visit London for a few days. Happily, the weather was clear and cool for my visit to Nunhead. The train stops only a few blocks from the cemetery’s main entrance so finding my way was very simple. When I first arrived very few others were there, mostly people walking their dogs. As it grew closer to noontime more visitors appeared. All-in-all it’s a great place for a walk and has some lovely views.

I was aware that finding the Firmin grave was as likely as finding a needle in a haystack. While I have a grave number, I have never seen a map that includes the locations of the individual grave plots so even if I had been armed with a trowel and clippers the area to search would have been dauntingly large. Indeed, if there was a grave marker I did not see it and it could easily have been underneath a fallen tree. Still, it was a pleasant adventure away from the usual tourist spots.

The paths through the cemetery are curved and what I imagine were the more expensive graves face the path. The Firmins were buried in square 110 (grave 1710) which is quite close to the chapel and thus to some of the larger and fancier monuments which line the path from the main entrance leading to the chapel. I spent a pleasant morning rambling the cemetery and poking about.

Leave a Reply

