Johane Bathe of Wootton Bassett

Leave a comment

May 19, 2017 by auntkatefirmin

The puzzle pieces are still not quite ready to fit together. Here is another piece from Wootton Basset, from a generation older than Christian, Edith, and Robert; I’m not willing to guess just how Johane Bathe is related to anyone outside the individuals mentioned in her will. As I usually do, I will post the transcription as one post, followed by a separate post with musings about the family and their status. Johane also had an inventory which provides material enough for several posts in addition – starting with those canvas sheets!

Surprisingly (to me) this will includes some punctuation. I have rendered ff as F, I may not have captured the capitalization or punctuation perfectly, this time I did not preserve the line breaks, and I have preserved the odd unmarked abbreviated spelling of words like Item (Itm), perfect (pfect), and parish (pish) unchanged.

Note the tomb of Reuben Horsell in the foreground.

The parish church of St Bartholomew and All Saints in Wootton Bassett. © Copyright Nick Smith and licensed for reuse under CC2.0

In the name of God Amen the one and thirtieth day of March in the year of o[ur] Lord God 1620 I Johane Baath of Wootton Bassett in the county of Wiltes widowe being sicke in body but of pfect remembrance laud and praise be given to Almighty God for the same doe make and ordeine this my last will and Testament in manner and forme following, That is to Say, First I give and 
bequeath my Soule to Almightie God my maker and redeemer And my body to the earth from whence 
it came to be buried in the pish Church of Wootton Bassett aforesaid whenever it shall please God 
to call me out of this world by his visitation, And for the better settling and Disposing of suche
 worldly goods and substance wherewith God hath endowed me Itm I give and bequeath to the poore
 people of the pish of Wootton Bassett aforesaid vj s [six shillings], vij d [seven pence] to be delivered to them the day of my 
buriall Itm I give and bequeath to my sonne Willm Bathe Three pounds in money to be delivered unto him within one year next after my decease / One flocke bed, Itm I give and bequeath to John Baath the sonne of my said sonne Willm Baath, five shillings in money to bee delivered to him within one yeare next after my decease / Itm I give and bequeath to Robert Baath the sonne of my sonne Richard Baath, The table board and frame in the Hall. Itm I give and bequeath to my daughter Johane Curtis the wife of Richard Curtis, one paire of canvas sheets, to be delivered to her within one year next after my decease. Itm I give and bequeath to Anne Baath my daughter, Fortie shillings in money, one little kettle, to be delivered to her within one yeare next after my decease. Itm I give and bequeathe to Christian Baath my 
daughter whom I make and ordeine only Executrix of this my last will and testament All the 
residue of my goods and chattailes, my debtes being paid and funerall expenses discharged And
 I desire and appointe Richard Baath my sonne, And Richard Curtis my sonne in lawe to be Overseers 
of this my last will and Testament, And I give to each of them twelve pence a peece, for their pains
 therein to be taken to see it duly pformed In witnes whereof I the said Johane Baath have hereto
putt my marke the day and yeare first above written

Published in the p[resen]ce of            the marke X of Johane
the mark RB of Richard Baath                          Baath
[signed] Richard Curtis*
[signed] Henry Horselle

* I have transcribed this as Curtis, it could be Cvrtes, his letter forms are a bit unusual

 

 

Leave a Reply

